Unquestionably Haunted


Again.

This house, again.  I’ve run past this house and I have driven past this house.  When running, it feels as though I’m not running by it, but from it.  Where is the second story?  Behind the tree.  The house doesn’t want you to directly see the second story–you have to see it from an angle.  And if you can see the second story windows, then they can see you, too.

I had held off taking a photo.  If I take a photo, then the house comes home with me.  Then the house is with me, rather than at a distance–where I like to keep it.  If it remains at a distance, then I don’t think of it.  I can actually forget it.  Now I will never be able to forget it.  Twice I encountered problems trying to get the image here.  One problem while “developing” the HDR composition.  A further problem saving the jpg version to upload here.  The first time I saved the jpg (as I have done hundreds or thousands of times before), I found only a corrupted file.  That’s a very rare event–the first time in 2012.  It felt like the house was not willing to be here.  Like it did not want to be here for your scrutiny.

Again, click to view on black, full size.

3 thoughts on “Unquestionably Haunted

  1. Pingback: Virginia Meadow « PJ8 (Paul D. Johnston) Photography

  2. Tom Whitacre

    Paul, your write-up is as gripping as the photograph! You MUST put together a “coffee table book” with your photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

