Therapy, Essential Nature


Therapy (02):

It’s been an interesting weekend.  I haven’t gotten out much; instead, I’ve been working inside the apartment, doing all the things I have to do to keep myself fed, clothed, healthy, and relatively happy.  But the other side of the equation is the endless stream of homework that I am digesting.

So when I had enough of looking at whiteboards and equations, I decided I needed to get outside.  And more than just five minutes on the porch.  So I went to the Petersburg National Battlefield and did a walkabout/driveabout.  It was sublime today–about 66F with a very light breeze.  And the lighting was even better.  As I smelled and breathed the air, I was refreshed.  As I looked at the colors and communed with Nature, I was renewed.  Thoreau was so very aware of the essential quality to Nature:

“THIS IS A delicious evening, when the whole body is one sense, and imbibes delight through every pore. I go and come with a strange liberty in Nature, a part of herself. As I walk along the stony shore of the pond in my shirt-sleeves, though it is cool as well as cloudy and windy, and I see nothing special to attract me, all the elements are unusually congenial to me. The bullfrogs trump to usher in the night, and the note of the whip-poor-will is borne on the rippling wind from over the water. Sympathy with the fluttering alder and poplar leaves almost takes away my breath; yet, like the lake, my serenity is rippled but not ruffled.” (Link / Citation) (Thoreau, 5.  “Solitude”)

Now the bounty.  These show a sliver of what I experienced today.  I have more photos of the “battle” aspect of the battlefield; those I will post tomorrow.  No need to have weapons of war among this set.

What a wonderful day it was, outside today; full of wonder.

2 thoughts on “Therapy, Essential Nature

Leave a Reply

