Critter!


Outside on the porch this morning, I spied a visitor.  This gal was brightly colored and exquisite in details.  Although I had been sitting at my desk drinking coffee and thinking photography, her presence pulled me outside to capture her.

I tried some closeup shots with my 20mm–I couldn’t get close / big enough.  Then I went to my old 35-105 macro zoom.  That wasn’t close enough, either.  Then I tried a trick that I’d read about.  It took some on-the-job learning, but I got it to work out.  Super macro trick!  The depth-of-field / focus plane is very shallow on these, but between the group, you should get a pretty good idea of what she looks like.  What a shame; unlike my friend, the spider, I believe she’ll not be sticking around.

This technique works, but I need to think about it a little more and practice much more.  My only concerns is that it exposes the lens and camera to much dust and outside elements that usually do not come into contact with these parts.  Is it worth the risk?   You tell me (please).

Nose horn
DSC_2372

Forehead guard
DSC_2373

Eyelashes!
DSC_2377

Antenna Detail
DSC_2380

Eye Reflection
DSC_2381

Leave a Reply

